President’s Message

Fellow Rotarians,

Haverhill was home to at least as many as five local banks on Merrimack Street in the early 1970s, when the regulators decided to allow the big banks to expand their footprint beyond county lines. One result was a drive to create “shareholder value” among stock-owned banks creating a frenzy of mergers and acquisitions that caused many community banks including Merrimack Valley, Haverhill Savings, and the venerable Haverhill National Bank to vanish from the scene. Just two mutually chartered banks, Pentucket Bank and Haverhill Bank, survive today as independent hometown institutions and we are lucky to have them. These two banks can and do devote significant amounts of time, energy and dollars back to the community. Whether it is sponsoring a Little League team, supporting the Boys and Girls Club, or through direct donations to local charities both organization’s are model citizens. Moreover, throughout the recent downtown renaissance they have proven to be sound financial partners to their customers with ample capital to lend to local businesses in our community.  Should it be any surprise that city bankers like Scott Cote, Tom Faulkner, Ken Smith, Allison Field, Harry Korslund, and Matthew Martin are also Rotarians?


Editor’s note: Haverhill Bank was founded in 1877 as Haverhill Cooperative Savings Fund and Loan Association. Pentucket Savings Bank received its mutual charter in 1891. In 1952 the bank merged with the City Five Cents Savings Bank and the institution was thereafter called the Pentucket Five Cents Savings Bank.

Visitors and Guests:

Stacey brought along Dipti Bhatt from Blue Coast Beverages

Happy $$$

Jeanie: $5 for the beautifully restored service club welcome signs

Melissa: $20 because she had a fabulous vacation

Michel: $10 Happy announcement dollars for President Arthur’s chivalry  

Gretchen: Shameless promotion for the Emmaus House Breakfast honoring Tim Jordan next Wednesday. Contact Owen Murphy to sign up.

Tracey: YMCA Golf tourney and Educator of the Year Award

Arthur: $5 because Rick Atwood is back

Rick: doubled that amount to $10 because he is indeed back!

Jean Poth $5 to quell President Arturo’s lame puns.

Speaker: State Representative Cory Atkins and Greg Liakos from the Mass Center for Arts, Culture and Tourism gave an excellent overview of the efforts to fund various projects statewide to cities and towns like Haverhill.

Raffle: Barbara came up with the lucky ticket but she left the jackpot intact.

This week’s speaker will be Stephen F. Tello Associate Professor of Management & Entrepreneurship Manning School of Business @ UMass Lowell.




Officers & Directors

• President Arthur Veasey

• President Elect Stacey Bruzzese

• Past President Michel van Ravestyn

• Treasurer Bill Kleuber

• Assistant Treasurer Greg DiBurro

• Secretary Dick Sundell

• Sargent At Arms Buddy Baker

• Assistant Sergeant at Arms Greg DiBurro

• Membership Chair Sven Amirian

• Foundation Chair Harry Korslund

• Programs/Speaker Chair Stacey Bruzzese

• Greeter Greg DiBurro

• Assistant Greeter

• Director Melissa Cerasuolo

• Director at Large Greg DiBurro

• Director at Large Greg Stark

• Director at Large Jean Poth